Delayed

charlie11k

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
45
I tried to get this answered over a day ago and no one replied....here is what i have:

Column A will either have Y1, Y2, Y3 or Y4. If the sum of a range 224:264 in column E is above 10k but less than 11k, I want cell "I" respectively to see if cell A is Y1 and if so, multiply the value in cell E by 19% and put that total in cell "I". If cell A is Y2 then if the range of 224:264 is above 11k but less than 12k, I want cell E to be multiplied by 17% and that total be put in cell J. Please help?
 

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)

tusharm

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
11,028
The lightly tested *Excel formula* below goes into I224 and addresses your specific question. Hopefully, you will be able to figure out small tweaks on your own.
Code:
=IF(A224="Y1",
    IF(AND(SUM($E$224:$E$264)>10000,SUM($E$224:$E$264)<11000),E224*19%),
  IF(A224="Y2",
    IF(AND(SUM($E$224:$E$264)>11000,SUM($E$224:$E$264)<12000),E224*17%)))
 

charlie11k

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
45
Tusharm, the reason I want this in a macro form is so I can modify it.....learn it myself and add additional cells and range of cells. In other words........once I can see how it is done, I am going to use it for multiple other columns and rows. Thanks you for helping me thus far.
 

charlie11k

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
45
Let me guess........turn the macro on right? Let me see if I can figure that out first k.
 

charlie11k

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
45

ADVERTISEMENT

How can I get the cell not to state "False"?
 

tusharm

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
11,028
If you want to learn how all this works, you have to try and do these kinds of changes yourself. The below is an Excel formula that goes into I224.
Code:
=IF(A224="Y1",
    IF(AND(SUM($E$224:$E$264)>10000,SUM($E$224:$E$264)<11000),E224*19%,"y1 true but sum false"),
  IF(A224="Y2",
    IF(AND(SUM($E$224:$E$264)>11000,SUM($E$224:$E$264)<12000),E224*17%,"y2 true but sum false"),"not y1 and not y2"))
How can I get the cell not to state "False"?
 

charlie11k

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
45

ADVERTISEMENT

I did play around with it but could not figure it out. I tried ,"" but that did not work.......I thought I had used that in the past. If my A column is blank, my formula columns return "false". I want it to be blank, how can I do it?
 

tusharm

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
11,028
Replace the messages I included in my formula by "" (2 consecutive double quotes)
 

charlie11k

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
45
That is what I am trying to say......it is not working for some reason......here is what I have:

=IF(A224="Y1",
IF(AND(SUM($E$224:$E$264)>1,SUM($E$224:$E$264)<10000),E224*20%,""))
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,130,048
Messages
5,639,769
Members
417,111
Latest member
buyukbang

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top