Dependent Drop Down across 5 columns

imdumb

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
3
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there,

First time, long time.

I work in kitchenware and we have a submission form which requires we categorize the data across a number of fields.

I'm trying to set up a group of drop downs (5 to be exact) that are dependent on the previous. Each row in the product submission is an individual product and thus requires it's own individual set of drop downs. I found one tutorial, however it only worked across three drop downs and I don't have the ability (sadly!) to extend it across the remaining two drop downs. I'm using excel 365 if this makes it any easier also.

I've provided a pic of the data for reference, if you might any further detail please let me know.

If any one could help with this I would be extremely grateful, this is one excel problem that's got me stumped.

Again, any help that can be provided would be greatly appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-09-19 214116.jpg
    Screenshot 2021-09-19 214116.jpg
    250.4 KB · Views: 8

Excel Facts

Format cells as currency
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+4 to format cells as currency. (Shift 4 is the $ sign).

VincentNL99

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
32
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there,

Sorry but I'm having trouble following along.

Is this correct?
In cell A1 there are 5 choices
Let's say you pick option 1

Now cell B1 gives 5 choices

If you would have picked option 2 in cell a1 you would get 5 different choices in b1

And you want that for a1, b1, c1, d1, e1
 

imdumb

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
3
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there,

Sorry but I'm having trouble following along.

Is this correct?
In cell A1 there are 5 choices
Let's say you pick option 1

Now cell B1 gives 5 choices

If you would have picked option 2 in cell a1 you would get 5 different choices in b1

And you want that for a1, b1, c1, d1, e1
pretty much.. the function of this project is to categorise data for a website, so each row is dependent on the field from the previous column. so data provided in second drop down would rely on what i selected in the previous column.
 

VincentNL99

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
32
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
And in what column(s) would be the data you are trying to categorise?
 

imdumb

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
3
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

And in what column(s) would be the data you are trying to categorise?
it would be on another sheet within the same document.

thank you
 

VincentNL99

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
32
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
With what do you want the rows of lists to correspondent?
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
65,998
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Welcome to the MrExcel Message Board!

Cross-posting (posting the same question in more than one forum) is not against our rules, but the method of doing so is covered by #13 of the Forum Rules.

Be sure to follow & read the link at the end of the rule too!

Cross posted at: Dependent Drop Down across 5 columns
If you have posted the question at more places, please provide links to those as well.

If you do cross-post in the future and also provide links, then there shouldn’t be a problem.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,148,283
Messages
5,745,842
Members
423,981
Latest member
ph1l

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top