Displaying Linked Filenames

Andy Pilkington

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a master file that is linked to two other spreadsheets I wondered if there was a formula to allow me to display the names of the linked files in a given cell. Please can anyone help? Thank you in anticipation.

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
I wondered if there was a formula to allow me to display the names of the linked files in a given cell
Perhaps you could give us 2 or 3 examples of exactly what might be in that 'given cell' and the corresponding results that you want returned from them?

Consider XL2BB for providing sample data to make it easier for helpers by not having to manually type out sample data to test with.

Upvote 0
Hi Peter, the master [comparison] file is "020 000 Comparison.xlsm" and the two files I have linked to it are "Demonstration Comparison File.xlsm" and "Empty Starting File.xlsm". The linked files will change as I compare the results from different projects and I would like to have the files that I am comparing clearly displayed in the spreadsheet whilst I am looking at the results of the comparison, rather than having to go to "Data" / "Edit Links". Does this make sense? Perhaps I am lazy but if it can be dome it would be most helpful.

Upvote 0
I'm assuming that data is being brought in to the master file via formulas in the master file. Is that correct?
If so, I'm asking for examples of the formula(s).
If not, what is the nature of the link between the master file and the other files? How are they linked?

Upvote 0
A typical link ...
='C:\AP 2006\Clients\[Client Name]\File Comparison\[Demonstration Comparison File.xlsm]MC Summary'!I10