Drop Down Issues

Hapdawg88

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
11
First of all, please excuse me if the terms I use are not completely clear. I have just started using Excel for more than very simple tasks. Currently, have a large spreadsheet with several drop downs that are created from a list. In the first row they work correctly but in the second row the options chosen in the first row no longer appear. I need every row to have every option regardless of what was chosen previously. is there someone who can help me with this? Thank you!
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.

Hapdawg88

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
11
yes, the list is on a different worksheet in the same workbook and followed the steps I found on here to create it and validate the data.
 

peterhinton

Active Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2016
Messages
336
how do you create the lists with data validation, what formula etc ? need some info too help you out ?
 

FDibbins

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
6,723

ADVERTISEMENT

You probably have a formula that excludes already-selected items from the list.

You may need to either create a new list, or use the list that the "excludes" list is based on.

(Hope that made sense?)
 

Hapdawg88

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
11
Thank you for your response. I do think I must have an issue with the formula that does not allow previously selected responses to be used. I would happily attach the spreadsheet if I could see a place to do that here. Not only am I new to Excel, I am new to forums also. :)
 

AliGW

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
3,628

ADVERTISEMENT

What's the formula?
 

FDibbins

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
6,723
Forum does not allow attachments :(

Did you see my comment in post #5?
 

Hapdawg88

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
11
yes, I saw it; thank you. I am willing to create a new list but I do not know how to keep from doing what I just did. I said earlier it is a formula but actually I just did the data validation thing with cells from another sheet. This is frustrating because I am not adequately able to communicate the situation because my knowledge/language are limited when talking about it. I would appreciate any information you have.
 

FDibbins

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
6,723
A static/regular DD just references a list of data, based on a range that contains that data. the range can either be A1:A10 or it can be a named range (which would need to be defined beforehand)

A Dynamic DD would be based on a range that changes/adjusts based on certain set criteria

It sounds like you might be working with the dynamic kind, so that's why I suggested you either create a new list, or find the source of the dynamic list and use that
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,127,167
Messages
5,623,130
Members
415,956
Latest member
Footballtend

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top