Dynamically extract data from row based on criteria and fill data contiguously into another row

khtanned

Office Version
  1. 2003 or older
Platform
  1. Windows
Greetings from a total noob.
How can I use a formula (no VBA) to extract data from cells in a row based on criteria and fill the extracted data into another row in the order from left to right
without blanks in between.

Table.png

In the example shown, the colors Brown to Black in row #1 are the data to be extracted if the corresponding cell in row #2 is not blank ("1" in this case).
The extracted data is to be filled into another row in the order from left to right as shown in row #5. The result must change accordingly when the cells
in row #2 are updated. The formula must still work wherever the result row is. That is to say it could be on a row starting from A5 as shown above or K16 or AD20 etc.

I found some similar questions and suggested solutions on the Internet but all of them have the data arranged downwards in columns. I tried using their formula and
changed the range and Row function to Column function or vice versa to no avail. Any help would be very much appreciated! Thank you.

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
365 makes this really easy. So easy in fact, that I guess you don't have that. I made up something with a few helper rows too (rows 8-10)
MrExcelPlayground11.xlsx
ABCDEFGHIJ
1BrownRedOrangeYellowGreenBlueVioletGreyWhiteBlack
5BrownYellowGreenGreyBlack
10BrownYellowGreenGreyBlack     
Sheet24
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
A5:E5A5=FILTER(A1:J1,A2:J2=1)
A8:J8A8=SUM($A2:A2)
A10:J10A10=IFNA(INDEX($A$1:$J$1,1,MATCH(A9,$A$8:$J$8,0)),"")
Dynamic array formulas.

Upvote 0
What version of Excel are you using?