Excel - Macros - Coloring Cells

r_nj

:confused:
I would like to get some help to create a macro as I have just joined a firm as a Jr. Analyst - I am still learning Macros - please help..

I would like to change the color of the cell based on the following:

For Column A,B,D,E,L : color highest 2 numbers- RED, lowest 2 numbers -yellow

For column C, if the % is 50% and above then green, if between 50.1% and 45% then blue, if lower than 44.9% then - black

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
You don't actually need macros for this, you can use Format>Conditional Formatting....

I'm afraid I can't give any more specific help as I'm about to go offline, but I'm sure somebody else will be along on a minute.

Upvote 0
Just check out "Conditional Formatting" in the posts....all you need for the job. If you want it tied to a macro you are already running there should be stuff on that as well under same topic. Post back if you need further help.

Ed

Upvote 0
Thnaks...

Conditional Formatting does not allow me to color the highest 2 numbers &
the lowest 2 numbers...

Upvote 0
r_nj said:
Conditional Formatting does not allow me to color the highest 2 numbers & the lowest 2 numbers...
Yes it does. [...very tempted to be a wise guy and stop here... :wink: ]

Here's how: Select the cells of interest and name them. In my example I just named them MyRange. Select the range and set CF to Formula Is and =(A1>=LARGE(MyRange,2)) changing "A1" to be the address of the first cell of your range.

HTH

Upvote 0
Thanks Greg! It worked...
How do I color the lowest 2 numbers... do I use "SMALL"

Upvote 0
Greg, I tried =(A1>=SMALL(MyRange,2)) and it did not work -- it colored all the cell but one.

Upvote 0