Extract data from a webpage and display it on a cell

shirazx3

Office Version
  1. 2021
Platform
  1. Web
Hello,
So I am a total novice with Excel VBA. I am trying to create a scenario where I can extract a particular value (inside an ID tag) from a webpage and display it on a particular cell in my excel worksheet. But it doesn't seem to work. Where am I going wrong? Thanks

Private ch As Selenium.ChromeDriver
Sub Test()

Set ch = New Selenium.ChromeDriver
ch.AddArgument "start-maximized"
ch.Start baseUrl:="https://upxland.me/users"
ch.Get ("/delnia")
Set b = ch.FindElementById("input-87")
Cells(1, 1).Value = b.Text

End Sub

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney
Do you receive a run-time error? Does Chrome shows the page that you expect? If you write any value in cells(1,1) daes the macro leave the cell unchanged or empty?
For debugging, add the following block of instructions:
VBA Code:
'ADD THIS BLOCK >>
On Error Resume Next
    Debug.Print "A", TypeName(b)
    Debug.Print "B", b.Attribute("outerHTML")
On Error GoTo 0
'<< End of block

End Sub
Then run your code; at the end open the vba editor (from Excel Alt-F11 should do the job); open the "Immediate window" (Contr-g should o the job), copy any printout you find there and pste it into your next message, along with the answers to the initial questions

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Do you receive a run-time error? Does Chrome shows the page that you expect? If you write any value in cells(1,1) daes the macro leave the cell unchanged or empty?
For debugging, add the following block of instructions:
VBA Code:
'ADD THIS BLOCK >>
On Error Resume Next
    Debug.Print "A", TypeName(b)
    Debug.Print "B", b.Attribute("outerHTML")
On Error GoTo 0
'<< End of block

End Sub