Extracting Data According to Format From Text Field

Shuggoth

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there,

I'm having trouble even finding a starting point with this. I've tried all manner of searches online but draw a blank - searches for extracting text based on format all bring back conditional formatting items etc. I suspect it may well need a VBA solution rather than a clever formula; if so, that's fine and I have some experience with VBA but I'm not sure how to even go about tackling the problem so would welcome any thoughts / guidance / code etc.

I have a spreadsheet with circa 40,000 rows of data and in column O for each row there is a text field that has 255 characters in the form of a manually written 'story' of sorts. As a result, there is no consistent format/layout for this text, other than it is all letters/numbers/punctuation so the data I am looking to extract will be in different positions within the cell every time.

Each cell will contain, at some point within the text, either a 14 digit number separated by a space either side of it (e.g. x 12345678901234 x), or a 6 digit number with a space followed by an 8 digit number (e.g. x 123456 12345678 x). There will be some cells where this data isn't present, some where it is only present once and some where it could be present multiple times. What I need to do is to somehow identify every instance of this pattern within every cell in column O and extract these numbers into another cell so that they can be used in other searches/filters/interrogation etc. Another complication is that there will be other numbers within the text format (e.g. dates amongst others) so I can't just pull out every number, it has to be ones that match this specific format.

Any help that anyone can offer would be appreciated - if you have any questions please let me know and I'll try to fill in as much as I can!

Regards,

Shug

Excel Facts

Select all contiguous cells