Faint printed gridlines

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
A document that has previously printed standard gridlines, now prints very faint gridlines. In page set up, gridlines is checked, draft is not checked. In options, Automatic is selected for color and black is the auto color. If I send the worksheet to another computer on the network it prints the standard gridlines. What has happened to my Excel!?? I tried restoring all the defaults by running Detect and repair but that didn't solve it either! HELP!
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.

ItalianInTexas

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
6
Another computer can print fine, but does it print on the same printer ? Does ANY other document print fine ? DId you check the toner ?
Did you try to open a new spreadsheet, throw some test data in it, and print, how does it print ?
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
Tried it on 2 other networked printers and got faint gridlines. Opened a new sheet, entered data, and got faint gridlines. Another older sheet, GOT gridlines. Toner's ok.
 

ItalianInTexas

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
6
Did you change any formatting, color, anything at all ? Does the gridlines look OK on the screen or are they faint on screen also ? Did you check the Excel Color Options (black, automatic .. ? )
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12

ADVERTISEMENT

Nope to formatting. Gridlines look ok on the screen. Color is set to Automatic under options and is black.
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
Oh yes, one more peculiar thing! I sent it to a coworker as an attachment and it prints gridlines perfectly at her computer!!!
 

ItalianInTexas

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
6

ADVERTISEMENT

It has to be something with the printer setup. IF it's a laser printer, does it have in the printer / advanced properties, something called "EconoMode" it has two options, ON or OFF. Give it a try with Economode OFF. Good luck !
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
I will try that, but I did send to 2 other printers on the network and they printed faint lines. Any other ideas??
 

Subscribe on YouTube

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,106,304
Messages
5,510,503
Members
408,792
Latest member
S_s_s

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Turn fraction around
    Hello I need to turn a fraction around, for example I have 1/3 but I need to present as 3/1
  • TIme Clock record reformatting to ???
    Hello All, I'd like some help formatting this (Tbl-A)(Loaded via Power Query) [ATTACH type="full" width="511px" alt="PQdata.png"]22252[/ATTACH]...
  • TextBox Match
    hi, I am having a few issues with my code below, what I need it to do is when they enter a value in textbox8 (QTY) either 1,2 or 3 the 3 textboxes...
  • Using Large function based on Multiple Criteria
    Hello, I can't seem to get a Large formula to work based on two criteria's. I can easily get a oldest value based one value, but I'm struggling...
  • Can you check my code please
    Hi, Im going round in circles with a Compil Error End With Without With Here is the code [CODE=rich] Private Sub...
  • Combining 2 pivot tables into 1 chart
    Hello everyone, My question sounds simple but I do not know the answer. I have 2 pivot tables and 2 charts that go with this. However I want to...
Top