Faint printed gridlines

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
A document that has previously printed standard gridlines, now prints very faint gridlines. In page set up, gridlines is checked, draft is not checked. In options, Automatic is selected for color and black is the auto color. If I send the worksheet to another computer on the network it prints the standard gridlines. What has happened to my Excel!?? I tried restoring all the defaults by running Detect and repair but that didn't solve it either! HELP!
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK

ItalianInTexas

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
6
Another computer can print fine, but does it print on the same printer ? Does ANY other document print fine ? DId you check the toner ?
Did you try to open a new spreadsheet, throw some test data in it, and print, how does it print ?
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
Tried it on 2 other networked printers and got faint gridlines. Opened a new sheet, entered data, and got faint gridlines. Another older sheet, GOT gridlines. Toner's ok.
 

ItalianInTexas

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
6
Did you change any formatting, color, anything at all ? Does the gridlines look OK on the screen or are they faint on screen also ? Did you check the Excel Color Options (black, automatic .. ? )
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
Nope to formatting. Gridlines look ok on the screen. Color is set to Automatic under options and is black.
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
Oh yes, one more peculiar thing! I sent it to a coworker as an attachment and it prints gridlines perfectly at her computer!!!
 

ItalianInTexas

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
6
It has to be something with the printer setup. IF it's a laser printer, does it have in the printer / advanced properties, something called "EconoMode" it has two options, ON or OFF. Give it a try with Economode OFF. Good luck !
 

bananafran

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
12
I will try that, but I did send to 2 other printers on the network and they printed faint lines. Any other ideas??
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,140
Messages
5,484,974
Members
407,476
Latest member
PDT Inc

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop
    Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop I have tried this below code but i'm getting in Y column filled with W005. Colud you please...
  • MsgBox Error
    Hi Guys, I have the below error show up when i try and run my macro in File1 but works fine if i copy and paste the same code into file2. [ATTACH...
  • CELL FORMAT - IF CONDITION
    My Cell Format is [B]""0.00" Cr". [/B]But in the cell, it is showing 123.00 for editing. (123 is entry figure). (Data imported from other...
  • Show numbers nearly the same
    Is this possible. I have a number that can change very time eg 0.00001234 Then I have a lot of numbers 0.0000001, 0.0000002, 0.00000004...
  • Please i need your help to create formula
    I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%. Thank you in...
  • Got error while adding column and filter
    Got error while adding column and filter In column Z has some like "Success" and "Error". I want to add column in AA if the Z cell value is...
Top