Fetching data from SQL Server to Excel on the fly

OzRiz

Hi,
I need to be able to past Part_Nos into a column in excel and Excel should be able fetch the corresponding description and cost price in the next columns which is available on a SQL data base. The number of Part_No can vary from 5 to 200.
Appreciate if you could help me to achieve this. I have basic knowledge in VB.

Thank you in advance for your help

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
One way: Retrieve PN, description, and cost through a SQL query, connecting to the server through Power Query - an add-in from MS for older versions of Excel, standard in 16 if I remember right - dumping all PNs (sounds like a small table. I'm used to dealing with lines with 30,000 PNs) to a table, and vlookup the table to fill in the specific PNs you are after.

Upvote 0
One way: Retrieve PN, description, and cost through a SQL query, connecting to the server through Power Query - an add-in from MS for older versions of Excel, standard in 16 if I remember right - dumping all PNs (sounds like a small table. I'm used to dealing with lines with 30,000 PNs) to a table, and vlookup the table to fill in the specific PNs you are after.

Thank you Derek73 for your prompt response. It's a workable solution, but as I am planning to build a template and distribute it to multiple users (with very limited knowledge in Excel) I would like to go with a solution where Excel picks up the data directly from the server. This way the file size will also be minimal.
Thanks again for the response and have a great weekend.

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
ExcelfromGermany

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel