first available row

mortgageman

I tried searching on the board (cuz I know its been here a lot :oops: ) but I just couldn't find it. I am using the following line to get the first available row in column A

fa = [checking!a65536].End(xlUp).row + 1

How do I change it so I am not hard coding the 65536?

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().

SydneyGeek

MrExcel MVP
Try:

Code:
With Sheets("checking")
   fa = .Range("A" & .Rows.Count).End(xlup).Row + 1
End With
Denis

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm not an expert with VBA and may not understand what is being asked here . . . but used in this way, doesn't Rows.Count return 65536 anyway? And in any case, getting back to the original question about hard coding the 65536, . . . wouldn't it be easier to type the 5 characters of '65536' than the 10 characters of 'Rows.Count' - let alone the additional "" around the A and also the additional &?

jindon

MrExcel MVP

ADVERTISEMENT

I'm not an expert with VBA and may not understand what is being asked here . . . but used in this way, doesn't Rows.Count return 65536 anyway? And in any case, getting back to the original question about hard coding the 65536, . . . wouldn't it be easier to type the 5 characters of '65536' than the 10 characters of 'Rows.Count' - let alone the additional "" around the A and also the additional &?
Peter

If you think about the change in Office12, 65536 is no more useful.

So Rows.Count/Columns.Count will return the precise number of Rows/Columns...

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Peter

If you think about the change in Office12, 65536 is no more useful.

So Rows.Count/Columns.Count will return the precise number of Rows/Columns...