Formula if match doesn't work

Boris7265

Board Regular
Hi,
I have a large worksheet and to perform my job -I am a staff accountant in construction firm, I need to match value of cell Q to value of the range of Coolum G and H ( they have 1000 rows) and if the value match to value if Cell Q has matches to the range i would like to put in adjusted cell P "no need tp record " and if id doesn't have a Matich "need to be recorded". I set in cell p a formula =IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH($O3, $G$1:$H$1500,0)),"No Need Record","Need record"). I copied it down in column 0 but it is only gives a result "need record" and I know there also a match . How can i fix it, thank you so much!!!!

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Hi,
I have a large worksheet and to perform my job -I am a staff accountant in construction firm, I need to match value of cell Q to value of the range of Coolum G and H ( they have 1000 rows) and if the value match to value if Cell Q has matches to the range i would like to put in adjusted cell P "no need tp record " and if id doesn't have a Matich "need to be recorded". I set in cell p a formula =IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH($O3, $G$1:$H$1500,0)),"No Need Record","Need record"). I copied it down in column 0 but it is only gives a result "need record" and I know there also a match . How can i fix it, thank you so much!!!!
in Cell P3 put this and try -

Excel Formula:
=IF(COUNTIF($G3:$H3,$Q3)>=1,"No Need Record","Need record")

Upvote 0
The match function will only accept a 1D array (ie a single row or column) which is why it doesn't work. Try
Excel Formula:
=IF(COUNTIFS($G$1:$H$1500,$O3),"No Need Record","Need record")

Upvote 0
Glad we could help & thanks for the feedback.

Upvote 0
It works ,

Thank you so much!!!!

Boris
Boris thanks for your update