Formulas that don't return an answer

imported_unknown

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
424
I input a formula such as, =a2, hit return and the cell reflects "=a2". It does not caluclate and give the value in cell a2. I have tried formatting the field, but to no avail. What I end up having to do is insert a column or go to a blank column not begin used and input the formula there, it will work and then copy past it over to the place I want it. This generally happens with worksheets I receive from others - so it must be some sort of formatting feature I'm not aware of how to undo. Any ideas on what could cause this? Thank you. Marie
 

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
On 2002-10-04 07:54, Amileaux wrote:
I input a formula such as, =a2, hit return and the cell reflects "=a2". It does not caluclate and give the value in cell a2. I have tried formatting the field, but to no avail. What I end up having to do is insert a column or go to a blank column not begin used and input the formula there, it will work and then copy past it over to the place I want it. This generally happens with worksheets I receive from others - so it must be some sort of formatting feature I'm not aware of how to undo. Any ideas on what could cause this? Thank you. Marie

Replace "=" with "=" via Find (without quotes).
 

imported_unknown

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
424
I misspoke - I input the formula without quotes - what I meant to convey is that I hit enter and the formula stays in the cell as =a2 (or whatever the formula is that I input) and does not return a value.
 

DonkeyOte

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Sep 6, 2002
Messages
9,123
Are running the formula within returned data - i.e. if you could run a report from another program and save it as xls, when you try to add formulas within the report range it won't work.
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
On 2002-10-04 08:40, Amileaux wrote:
I misspoke - I input the formula without quotes - what I meant to convey is that I hit enter and the formula stays in the cell as =a2 (or whatever the formula is that I input) and does not return a value.

You have a formula in some cell. The formula is just:

=A2

but what all you get to see in the formula cell is the formula itself, not the value of A2. Assuming that "Formulas" is NOT checked on the View tab (under Tools|Options), you can do the following:

Activate Edit|Find.
Type = in the box for Find what.
Activate the Replace button.
Type = in the Replace with box.
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
It's because the cells are formatted as Text. Format the cells as General (or some other format) before you enter your formula.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,144,274
Messages
5,723,440
Members
422,497
Latest member
dougy99

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top