Function not to count duplicates

ramez75

Hi,

I am new to the thread, I researched to see if I can find an answer to my question but didn't find exactly what I want. I have tried the functions countifs, sumifs but again not getting what I want. Hence, I am open to ideas or suggestions on how to handle this.

I am working on this excel sheet to capture inspection data and plot pass versus failure.

So Sheet8 is the Dashboard where it uses different sumifs and countifs to get data from other worksheets. All seems to work fine with the exception of this

In sheet8 column H - I am using currently the below countifs function which I know is not providing me the right number as it counts duplicates
=COUNTIFS('sheet3'!B:B,B2210,'sheet3'!A:A,A2210)
sheet3 column A = Date
sheet3 column B = Product line
sheet3 column C = Problem Type
sheet3 column D = Serial #

my issue is the inspectors find multiple defects sometime on the same unit hence "sheet3 column D" might have the serial # recorded more than once as each time it corresponds to a different failure.

I want the above counifs function to be modified to account for that and not count duplicate serial number or what other function I need to use to be able to get what I need.

Example

Sheet3 Date

Date Product Line Problem Type Serial No.
11/3/2015 Product A Missing Screw 1234
11/3/2015 Product A Missing Label 1234
11/3/2015 Product A Missing Label 1111
11/3/2015 Product B Missing red wire 2145
11/3/2015 Product C Missing red wire 3214

Hence, sheet8 should show the below

Date Product Line # Units Failed
11/3/2015 Product A 1
11/3/2015 Product A 1
11/3/2015 Product B 1
11/3/2015 Product C 1

Hope that make sense

Help is greatly appreciated

Thank you in advance

RB

Thank you, I will try it.

Can you tell me how to modify your function to use dynamic ranges. I don't have fixed columns and users add data daily

Thank you

RB

In G2 control+shift+enter, not just enter, and copy down: