Generate SKU numbers for product list in Excel

D1XII

Hi Guys,

Total Newbie in Excel - but I can figure some things out.

I have a list of product categories structured like this:

Seasonal/Christmas/Trees/Ornaments/Red

I would like excel to generate numeric values for each category and a random value for each individual product. So

Seasonal = 4
Christmas = 52
Trees = 80
Ornaments= 01
Red = 7

Thus; the SKU = 45280017269, where 269 is the randomly generated product value.

I know there is a way and I'm sure it's easier than I think. Can any of you excel geniuses help me?

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
Hi Guys,

Total Newbie in Excel - but I can figure some things out.

I have a list of product categories structured like this:

Seasonal/Christmas/Trees/Ornaments/Red

I would like excel to generate numeric values for each category and a random value for each individual product. So

Seasonal = 4
Christmas = 52
Trees = 80
Ornaments= 01
Red = 7

Thus; the SKU = 45280017269, where 269 is the randomly generated product value.

I know there is a way and I'm sure it's easier than I think. Can any of you excel geniuses help me?

Thanks!

Maybe I am unclear, apologies:

Column A Column B Column C Column D
[This is where my categories are. in this format] I'd like to convert A to this: I'd like to generate a random value I'd like to put column B,C,D together
Seasonal/Christmas/Trees/Ornaments/Red 4-52-80-01-7 269 4-52-80-01-7-269

Thanks!

Upvote 0
Actually BITechMacro is onto something here.

To put the values together, you use the & operator. For example, if you want to get the values of A1 and B1 together, you would use this formula: =A1 & B1