give a value a "friendly" name

telluride

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
4
I am creating a cost annalysis. I want to assign the Project Manager a value of $35/hour. But on my spreadsheet I don't what anyone to see the $35. I want to key in PM and have that value really be $35. Then I can multiply PM by say 2 and get a value of 70. I don't know how to do this however.
 

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,210
telluride said:
I am creating a cost annalysis. I want to assign the Project Manager a value of $35/hour. But on my spreadsheet I don't what anyone to see the $35. I want to key in PM and have that value really be $35. Then I can multiply PM by say 2 and get a value of 70. I don't know how to do this however.

Activate Insert|Name|Define.
Enter PM in the Names in Workbook box.
Enter the following in the Refers to box:

=35

Click OK.

Now you can invoke:

=2*PM
 

Joe Was

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
7,539
Function PM()
'Standard Module Code, like: Module1.

'Syntax: Add: PM() to any Sheet Formula and
'this function will replace "PM()" with the value: 35

'Like: = 2*PM() + 100

PM = 35
End Function
 

telluride

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
4
the only problem I get is that I would like to change my PM with a value of TS (technical support) When I change PM to TS I want the TS value (which may be 25) to be my new multiplier. I was hoping the I my formula could be A2 (which says TS but has a real value of 25) * 2 =50
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,210

ADVERTISEMENT

telluride said:
the only problem I get is that I would like to change my PM with a value of TS (technical support) When I change PM to TS I want the TS value (which may be 25) to be my new multiplier. I was hoping the I my formula could be A2 (which says TS but has a real value of 25) * 2 =50

Define TS too.
 

telluride

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
4
If in A1 I have PM (that has a value of 35 done in the fashion you described)
In column B1 I have hours (2)
then could my formula be A1*B1= 70?


Not PM*2=70
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,210
telluride said:
If in A1 I have PM (that has a value of 35 done in the fashion you described)
In column B1 I have hours (2)
then could my formula be A1*B1= 70?


Not PM*2=70

If you want to have it in that fashion, you need to construct a 2-column symbol valuation table...
Book6
ABCDEFGH
1PM270Table
2TS360PM35
3TS20
4ZX15
5
Sheet1


G2:H4 houses a symbol valuation table.

C1, copied down:

=SUMIF($G$2:$G$4,A1,$H$2:$H$4)*B1

BTW, you could still follow the earlier suggestion if you download and install the morefunc.xll add-in and invoke:

=EVAL(A1)*B1
 
Master Excel Bundle

Excel contains over 450 functions, with more added every year. That’s a huge number, so where should you start? Right here with this bundle.

Forum statistics

Threads
1,164,286
Messages
5,836,425
Members
430,428
Latest member
Deepak Tanwar

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top