Help converting Excel SumIF into DAX

Plexus

Hi There,

I am totally new to PowerPivot and have being trying to create a SumIf Excel formula.

The Excel formula is:

=SUMIF($E$8:$E$736,">="&E17,$E$8:$E$736)/SUM($E$8:$E$736)

The formula works out a % of sales volume that I then use to apply a grade.

I have been trying to use CALCULATE and FILTER but am unable to achieve the required results.

I appreciate any help that can be given or perhaps point me in the direction of what DAX formula would be best to use.

Thanks.

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
You will struggle with the approach you are taking. Power Pivot is within the reach of any Excel user that can write SUMIF, but you need to properly learn how Power Pivot works before you try to write formulas like this. I can't really teach you all you need to know in a forum post. I suggest you read my book for a fast and effective way to Power Pivot success. Learn to Write DAX - Excelerator BI You won't be sorry.

Upvote 0
Hi,

Thanks for suggesting I read your book Matt, however I do not have time for that at the moment. Although new to DAX I do learn quickly and believe the Excel formula I am trying to convert to DAX to be an incredibly complicated task, one that is causing even experienced DAX writers a headache, because as yet on various forums no one has been able to solve this question, despite many attempts!

I started off by writing the expression:

[FONT=&quot]=CALCULATE(SUM(DATA[VOLUME]),FILTER('DATA',DATA[VOLUME]>=500))/SUM(DATA[VOLUME])

as this is the closest I can get to it, as you will notice the >= 500 part is incorrect as the original Excel formula states:

[/FONT]
=SUMIF($E$8:$E$736,">="&E17,$E$8:$E$736)/SUM($E$8:$E$736) so the SUMIF criteria is to only sum up values equal and greater than the cell value.