Help with Finding in Ranges

vba_Aja

Hi, vba newbie here. I'm trying to use the set range function to search if a string exists within it. If it cant find the string it added the string to the next row. This is fine and works correctly with the following code:

Set r1 = Range(Sheets("Sheet1").Range("A1"), Sheets(Sheet1").Range("A1").End(xlDown)).Find (What:=Sheets("Sheet2").Range("A1").Value, LookAt:=xlWhole, MatchCase:=True)

where r1 returns nothing if the string in Sheets2!A1 is not found in the full range Sheets1!A:A.

What I need to do now is add another level where if it finds the string in Sheet1!A:A it also needs to check if the corresponding value fronm that row but in Column B matches the value from Sheet2!B1.

I've tried using a for loop to search through each row individually but there are up to 50,000 rows in Sheets1, and it needs to do this with thousands of strings from Sheet2! so it takes too long to complete.

Apologies if Im talking jibberish but any help would be great!

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.
Hi and Welcome to the Board,

What is your desired result (what should happen when you find matches)?

Would the code need to look for more than one match of Col A & Col B, or does it only need to find up to one match per pair in Sheet2?

Upvote 0
Hi Jerry. I have 2 worksheets; 1 with existing product codes in column A and existing product group in B. And 1 with a new updated product list. Curently, Im checking if any codes from this new list are not in the existing list.

This needs expanding so it also checks if the code is in the existing sheet then does the corresponding product groups also match. If both the product code and group match then dont add the entry from the new product list. It only needs to find 1 match to return a negative response.

Any help would be great.

Upvote 0