Hi, I need a looping VBA macro to extract matching rows based on a column value, and to then extract the matching rows into new worksheets

BishopLewis98

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all, I am also a noob to VBA world, and here is my request.
I need a looping VBA macro to extract matching rows within a workbook based on a column value, and to extract the matching rows into new worksheets.
I have 16,000 rows and in column 5 (Column E), we have a list of names. There are multiple rows that have the same number of names from column 5 (Column E), and what I need the macro to do is to loop through the whole workbook, find any matching rows that have the same number of names in Column 5 (Column E), then extract those rows to a new worksheet in a separate workbook. Making sure that the macro runs through all of the entries in column 5 (Column E) before it finishes. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Excel Facts

What is the last column in Excel?
Excel columns run from A to Z, AA to AZ, AAA to XFD. The last column is XFD.
Hi thanks for pointing me towards this example, I have copied the code and unfortunately I get a debug error '9'. I have replaced the column he refers to in his example "D2" to the one I need "E2". Please see the code below, I wonder if I need to amend any other fields or names to match my Excel?

Sub CreateBranchSheets()

Dim BranchField As Range
Dim BranchName As Range
Dim NewWSheet As Worksheet
Dim WSheet As Worksheet
Dim WSheetFound As Boolean
Dim DataWSheet As Worksheet

Set DataWSheet = Worksheets("Data")
Set BranchField = DataWSheet.Range("E2", DataWSheet.Range("E2").End(xlDown))

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

'Loop through each branch name in column D

For Each BranchName In BranchField

'Check whether the current branch name corresponds with an existing sheet name

For Each WSheet In ThisWorkbook.Worksheets
If WSheet.Name = BranchName Then
WSheetFound = True