Hlookup 2nd instance trouble

janderson055

I'm fairly new to using excel and have been trying to create a simple spreadsheet that keeps track of scores and automatically displays the names of the players in descending order. Anyway I have gotten to the point of using hookup to match a value and return that players name. But when two players have the same score it will only return the first found value. I sort the number scores using a LARGE function and it works great. Then I use something like this =HLOOKUP(Y2,B27:K28,2,FALSE) to match that value with the players name. Any suggestions on how to return the other players name when the scores are the same?

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
I'm fairly new to using excel and have been trying to create a simple spreadsheet that keeps track of scores and automatically displays the names of the players in descending order. Anyway I have gotten to the point of using hookup to match a value and return that players name. But when two players have the same score it will only return the first found value. I sort the number scores using a LARGE function and it works great. Then I use something like this =HLOOKUP(Y2,B27:K28,2,FALSE) to match that value with the players name. Any suggestions on how to return the other players name when the scores are the same?
Can you post some sample data so we can see what you're looking for?

I understand what you want to do but need to see how the data is setup to be able to make a suggestion.

Upvote 0
screen-capture.jpg

Upvote 0
OK, let's assume you have the scores listed starting in Y2 in descending order.

Book1
YZ
22150Player5
31800Player8
41700Player4
51550Player10
61300Player7
71300Player9
81100Player6
91000Player3
10800Player2
11700Player1
Sheet1

Enter this array formula** in Z2 and copy down as needed: