Hold code in one file and excute find and replace code upon command on a random file selected by user

Twin2

Hi,

This is my first post on this site, I hope someone can help. Forgive me in advance, as I am no expert and in the very early stages of learning excel vba.

I would appreciate if you could provide any help on the following. Any suggestions of improvement of codes is always welcome too!

Overview of the objective of code:

a) User will open the excel file 'Entity List Change' which has the vba and table contents - find and replace.

b) User will open the file they want to have text replaced by another value (this file path/workbook should be stored in the first sub). The user will then click on Ctrl Q to execute the code held in 'Entity List Change' - I presume adding this on the options section of the macro will do this.

c) The code would then store the workbook name and file path of the one they want the details to be changed.

d) The code will then ask the user to confirm that the file which the code should be executed against using yes or no query.

e) If yes, then it will go to the 'Entity List Change' file to obtain array then execute the code against the original workbook/file held in the first sub. (Note, I am unaware what the file name would be and it could have a number of sheets. The find and replace would be executed on the whole workbook selected.)

MY PROBLEM

- “Desktop” is being stored as the original file in the first sub
- Due to the first sub, I get a run-time error 9 as: Workbooks(retvalue).Select 'The value being held is "Desktop". Do you know how I may fix this, it needs to go back to the original file – I believe this should be file path to do this, but I am unsure?
- Equally should it store this unknown the file as a workbook but I am unsure how to do this?

Please see the code below:

Code:
Option Explicit

Public retvalue As String ' hold the stored value so I can reuse it in a sub procedure.
Dim finalFile As Workbook