How do I show the difference in sales each year compared to a reference year?

captdunco

Hi guys,
I am new to power pivot (Less than a week). I am trying to calculate determine the cost difference for a given product each year compared to a give n reference year. My data is as below:

ProductYearCost
A201523
A201610
A20176
A20184
A20194
B201535
B201623
B201721
B201820
B201920

<colgroup><col span="3" width="64" style="width: 48pt;"></colgroup><tbody style="border: 0px; font-weight: inherit; font-style: inherit; font-family: inherit; margin: 0px; outline: 0px; padding: 0px;">
</tbody>
Ideally , I want to summarize the above into a table as below showing the difference in cost in each year per product compared to 2015. Below is an illustration.
Difference in Cost per year compared to 2015
Product20152016201720182019
A0-13-17-19-19
B0-12-14-15-15

<colgroup><col span="6" width="64" style="width: 48pt;"></colgroup><tbody style="border: 0px; font-weight: inherit; font-style: inherit; font-family: inherit; margin: 0px; outline: 0px; padding: 0px;">
</tbody>
I have tried several measures but they all seem to give wrong figures. I am out of ideas.
I am a total newbie and am supposing this could be very easy to most of you but I would appreciate help ideas on how to go about this.
Thanks.

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.
You will definitely need to build your knowledge. You should create a calendar table.
Power Pivot Calendar Tables - Excelerator BI

then the approach really depends on your data. How many rows in the data table? How many products? What granularity is your data? Is it yearly like shown? I recommend you read my book as it was designed to help you get started Learn to Write DAX - Excelerator BI. In the mean time, post the above info and I will try to help you.

Upvote 0
You will definitely need to build your knowledge. You should create a calendar table.