Import External Data

gordon3d

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2004
Messages
37
I am importing data from another spreadsheet using Excel's Import External Data/Import Data etc and when I get to the "Select Table", I see some Named Ranges are listed and others are listed with a "$" at the end.

For example: Data_Bu (named range) is listed as Bu$. Importing using this Bu$ gives a difference rance which includes titles etc which I do not want.

Others: Data_Carbon is listed in "Select Table" as Data_Carbon.


What has happened to my orifinal named range? I can see it in the original source spreadsheet but not in the "Select Table".
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off

XLGibbs

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
2,446
There is an options button which will pop up another menu that allows you to select tables and views. Your named range is a "view" in this context and that is likely unchecked. Once you check the view option you will see your named range.

Also, keep your situation in one thread or the moderators will wish bad things to happen to you involving squirrels.
 

gordon3d

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2004
Messages
37
Sorry but I thought it was three separate problems involving data importation (happens to be using the same function). Sorry.

Thanks for that.
 

gordon3d

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2004
Messages
37
No good. The view option is checked.

>>>> Some <<<<of the Named Ranges that exists in the original source Excel File still do not appear on the list when I tried using 'External Data > New Database Query".

The Named Ranges that do appear is the same as if I went via "Data > Import External Data > Import Data" route.

What am I doing wrong.
 

gordon3d

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2004
Messages
37
By the way, it seems both methods of importation:

'Data > Import External Data > New Database Query"
'Data > Import External Data > Import Data"

Requires the source Excel file to be opened on the same PC and the importing file (note the source dile is sitting on another networked computer).
 

XLGibbs

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
2,446
Hmm, don't know about that. I have similar queries and imports linked to files accross a large network, and I have never had to have the file open to refresh the data....
not sure what the difference is in your case.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,118,671
Messages
5,573,583
Members
412,537
Latest member
Mohamed_5966
Top