importing multiple data files with file name in cell and as sheet name

bcarlton

I have about 100 tab-delimited data files. All are the same number of columns, but different lengths (rows). All are in one directory (call it C:data). The file name is the date and time (140914-074512.dat). I would like to import them to a single Excel workbook, each file on a different sheet with data beginning at cell G3, with the file name (minus .dat extension) in cell A1 and as the sheet name. (Leave a place holder in the macro where I can write a sub that analyzes the data and places sums and notes in row A of each sheet.) Then add a summary sheet with the contents of A1 - Z1 of each sheet in consecutive rows (100 rows for 100 sheets).

I have written some macros, but I'm not very good at it. I usually need to start with something close from a message board, then figure out what changes to make. I hacked together a macro that almost worked (very ugly by the time I was done with it), but it has been difficult to get the file name as the sheet name (something about real sheet name vs. internal name?) and the correct file name imported into cell A1 (not sure how Excel picks the next file in a directory). Getting Excel to add the summary sheet is also beyond my limited ability. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
try following code: (I am no expert, but this does exactly what you have described, since you know coding with little adjustments you can accomplish your goal.)
Code is as below:

Sub CombineTextFiles()
Dim FilesToOpen
Dim x As Integer
Dim wkbAll As Workbook
Dim wkbTemp As Workbook
Dim sDelimiter As String

On Error GoTo ErrHandler
Application.ScreenUpdating = False

sDelimiter = ","

FilesToOpen = Application.GetOpenFilename _
(FileFilter:="Text Files (*.txt), *.txt", _