Daiwik

Hi,

I have a list of keywords in Sheet A (2000 rows) and I have a sheet B (column B), where I want to highlight Column B or get YES/NO (in nearby column D) if the cell of column B contains any keyword.

For example - Column B cell contains "
30secondMBA.com" and I have a keyword "MBA".
If I use ISNUMBER function, it will be insanely huge which doesn't seem worthy. Please please help me, I have to prepare this sheet today :(

Last edited:

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
Try using a Conditional Formatting formula along the lines of this:

=SUMPRODUCT(--(ISNUMBER(SEARCH($A$2:$A$5,C2))))

where A2:A5 are your keywords and your strings are in column C (starting in row 2).

Or if you want a formula to return YES/NO, you can use the formula (regular formula in the worksheet, not CF formula):

=IF(SUMPRODUCT(--(ISNUMBER(SEARCH($A$2:$A$5,C2)))),"YES","NO)

Upvote 0
Note that this will return potentially incorrect results if you have any blank cells in the A range. Perhaps subtract the count of blanks in the range.

Upvote 0
Try using a Conditional Formatting formula along the lines of this:

=SUMPRODUCT(--(ISNUMBER(SEARCH($A$2:$A$5,C2))))

where A2:A5 are your keywords and your strings are in column C (starting in row 2).

Or if you want a formula to return YES/NO, you can use the formula (regular formula in the worksheet, not CF formula):

=IF(SUMPRODUCT(--(ISNUMBER(SEARCH($A$2:$A$5,C2)))),"YES","NO)

Thanks very much 63falcondude, :)
Formula is working fine in returning YES/NO but cond.Format. is not working properly. Actually it's highlighting every cell which is not blank. My priority is to highlight keyword matching cells. Please help, my boss will be very happy :biggrin:

Upvote 0
Thanks very much 63falcondude, :)