Macro: Copy/rename sheet and create hyperlink. Error. Are shared documents not macro friendly?

MickeyW

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi All,

I'm very very very new to excel macros so please be kind.

I found a macro online and was able to add a couple of extra steps to do what I want it to do. Everything was working fine. I tested the macro heaps of times, and it worked fine. Tried it again later in the day and now I'm coming up with a 1004 run time error.

Little background the document is uploaded to sharepoint. I open "in app" and work with it that way. It is also a shared document which I don't have the authority to change anything as it is through my company. I noticed that as I was in the sheet, I saw a coworker was making changes (just writing comments in cells not to the macro). And after that the macro would not work. I thought it was because 2 people were in at once and maybe the active cell part of my macro might be confused so I tried again this morning when there was no one else in the sheet. Still received an error.

My question is there an issue with macros in share documents? And if the shared document is not the issue what else might be going wrong?

Quickl macro breakdown.... There is a table on sheet "GNA Rehab Status Tracker". The ProjectID is in column B and the Description in column C. The idea was to select the ProjectID in column B and run the macro. The name in the active cell would become the name of the sheet and be used to create the hyperlink. Once the template sheet is copied and renamed, I added code to paste the projectID and Description into E2 and F2 respectfully. Then I will come back to the original Tracker sheet and create a hyperlink that would be offset 19 to be placed in the same row but in column U.

I've stepped through the macro and the error happens at line " ActiveWindow.ActiveSheet.Range("E2").Value = tempProjectID "

Thank you in advance!

Sub CopyRenameHyperlink()

Dim tempProjectID As String