Making text in a cell turn BOLD upon entry of another cell

TPD

Board Regular
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
54
Hello again,

I was wondering if there was a way to make the text in a linked cell (C36)become BOLD upon the entry of either of 2 cells it is linked to in another worksheet?

heres how I would have it:
In a worksheet called "Screening Form" If either cell C22 or C23 recieves an entry,

then the text in cell C36 in the worksheet called "SDI Discovery" becomes bold.
 

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
Hi,

you can use conditional format for this
since the range is on another sheet you need to name the range
so name C22:C33 on your "Screening Form"sheet checkrange
select cell C36 on "SDI Discovery"sheet
menu format / conditional format/ formula: =COUNTA(checkrange)>0
format as required
OK

kind regards,
Erik
 

TPD

Board Regular
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
54
so name C22:C33 on your "Screening Form"sheet checkrange

Not sure what you mean by that?
How do I name cells?

I go to those two cells in the ScreeningForm and then do what with them?

Right now it's not working and in the conditional format box for cell36 simply has this in the formula option. I need to put ScreeningForm in that formula someplace don't I?
=COUNTA(C28:C29)>0
 

dave3009

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
7,004
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
As an alternative you could use a similar formula to your last post but put it in say Screening Form IV1 Then in IV1 in SDI Discovery have ='Screening Form'!IV1.

Then highlight the cell you want to apply format to and in conditional format use

Formula is: =$IV$1="YES"

HTH


Dave
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832

ADVERTISEMENT

Not sure what you mean by that?
How do I name cells?
how do you name cells
select cells C28:C29
menu insert / name / define: write checkrange
(or anything else) and use that name in the formula as written in my previous post

TIP: check out helpfiles for Name
 

barry houdini

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
20,825
Here's a way to do this directly....

use this formula in conditional formatting

=COUNTBLANK(INDIRECT("'screening form'!C22:C23"))<2

...the downside of this approach is that if you rename the worksheet it won't work unless you change the worksheet name in CF.....
 

TPD

Board Regular
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
54
Thanks Barry! Worked great!!!!!! That was whta I was looking for!
 

Greg Truby

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
10,014
Todd,

I would recommend that you still try to get Erik's to work. As Barry points out, changing the name of the worksheet will cause this conditional formula to fail. Erik's is more robust (it's also verbose, he could have simply put =COUNTA(checkrange) :biggrin:). But more importantly, Named Ranges (and Named Formulae) are an amazingly powerful part of Excel and there are a number of situations where knowing how to effectively use them will allow you to solve problems much more easily. If you are going to do very much work in Excel, you definitely want to learn more about them.

Regards,
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,136,427
Messages
5,675,777
Members
419,585
Latest member
popsin

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top