Merging multiple Excel files in a folder into columns, not rows

SteynBS

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Guys,

I am using Power Query to merge multiple Excel files in 1 folder, but instead of throwing the data below the other in rows, I need it in columns.

So I have a master file that I will use as a seperate source called Master. The layout looks like this
1686072229511.png

I will then have multiple other excel files in a folder they will have different names, but they will all have the same layout:

1686072304778.png

What I need th achieve is all the files in the folder needs to merge with the Master file using the "item" as the join. The final product will look like this:

1686072526511.png

Currently what I am doing is using each file as a source and merging it to the Master file using the "item' as the join. Is there anyway I can achieve this in a faster way?

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
I don't know how faster this could be, but I know you will only need to refresh the table when you add/edit files (as long as the structures of the files are the same).

The following code requires:
  • Sheet1 in all workbook files (Find and replace the string "Sheet1" in two places in the code if it is a different sheet name).
  • Item column in the master data file. Other columns don't matter.
  • Item, Region, and Sales columns in the other data files.
  • Master.xlxs files is not in the same folder with the other files (this could be handled if it has to be).
File and folder paths should be changed as needed in the code below.

Power Query:
let
    Master = Table.PromoteHeaders(
                Excel.Workbook(
                    File.Contents("C:\SomeFolder\Master.xlsx"), null, true
                ){[Item="Sheet1",Kind="Sheet"]}[Data]
            ),