MS Access 2007 Database

ArrestedDevelopment

Hello fellow databasers,

I'm new to the game, and I have a (basic) sample database which I have been developing as part of some marketing recommendations for my local DIY store which is struggling at the moment. I've got all the data in to the database tables, its making it USEFUL that I've hit a wall with.

I'd provide some screenshots but its not a single part of the database that I'm stuck on, its really the whole thing. Does anyone have any general tips on how to make the info more accessible and user friendly through forms, reports and queries.

Meeting with the store on thursday and I'd like to be able to show them some examples of how they can manage their data better... at the moment I wouldn't disrespect them by showing what I've got so far!

Any help really appreciated :confused:

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
Welcome to the forum, Michael.

Can you please tell us the names of the tables, and describe how they're related to each other so we can better advise you. Also, are you planning this as an inventory system? an order processing system? or a comprehensive, all-in-one system?

Thanks.
Phil...

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply Phil,

While it is an all-in-one database, I must stress it is basic, just so I can give the company a rough idea of what they can do. It is a powertool rental database.

I have four main tables:

Customers, Bookings, Inventory(Tools) and Employees.

The bookings table has many to one relationship with each table; to Customer ID in the customer table, Item ID in the Inventory Table and Employee ID in the Employee ID table (all the primary keys) Primary key in booking table is Booking ID.

I have also created another table "Models" containing "Rental Fee Per Day" which is related to the inventory table.