MS Query into Excel not working...

lord of the badgers

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
208
Used to work until last week - i can run MS Query on it's own & save a .dqy file.
If i try to run it via Excel as per normal, it just sits there saying it's waiting for MS Query.

Any thoughts..? it's a business copy of Excel so i have a call raised on it with our IT dept, but that'll probably take a while as it's an odd one.

Thanks
 

Excel Facts

Using Function Arguments with nested formulas
If writing INDEX in Func. Arguments, type MATCH(. Use the mouse to click inside MATCH in the formula bar. Dialog switches to MATCH.

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707
So you can actually get the data returned within MSQuery? You can see it displayed in tabular format? Can you then return this data to Excel, or is this where it 'sticks'?

Or is it just a case of not bringing new data into the spreadsheet when you click "Refresh Data" in the data region of the spreadsheet?


Richard
 

lord of the badgers

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
208
hallo Richard

well i can see it all ok in MSQuery.exe, and refreshing works on an already embedded query, but if i try to start the new/edit data query wizard in Excel it just says "waiting for ms query", and does nothing, and starts to "not respond" - it didn't come out of that loop all weekend (cause i had to leave work early & nobody logged me out!)

it's so odd, cause it was fine until that moment on friday
 

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707

ADVERTISEMENT

Has anything changed about your set up? Eg IT installed any new software etc. If the refresh data option still works as normal, it does sound as if it is just a problem with the MSQuery interface (the actual call to the database doesn't use MSQuery I believe). Perhaps reinstalling Excel (make sure it's a full install as MSQuery is a standalone program that isn't necessarily installed by default) or possibly going into Excel and Help>Detect and Repair in the spreadsheet? Not sure if this is an option in Excel2k though.

Richard
 

lord of the badgers

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
208
it is possible of course that our config has been changed, i had a hard drive replaced & looks like MSQuery isn't std build anymore, but that change was some days prior & i'm 100% sure I used MSQuery via Excel since that time

the support ticket is still out - but it's a slow process
 

Sledgehmr

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
1
I'm having similar problem. Running Windows 7, Office 2010. Been running MS Query via Excel for 4 years and it has never been as hard to open and work with as the last month or two(since we upgraded to Office 2010).

Today, opened Excel to work on some data, but can't get Query to open, it just sits there, 30 minutes so far, "Waiting for data to be returned from Microsoft Query". Note: This is a fresh Excel file with no attached query. I've already rebooted my box once. Perhaps need to do it again???

Been searching the web for an answer. I assume this has to do with Office 2010. Considering asking our IT group to put that back on my box.

Thx in advance for any help.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,136,584
Messages
5,676,661
Members
419,638
Latest member
GlenMc52

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top