Need a good reference for troubleshooting VBA errors

Mr_Phil

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Hi, thanks for looking. I have a really hairy workbook with a lot of macros. Most were written in part with the recorder because I am not a programmer. I have one that works several times in a row and then it will hang up and I will have to debug, select the worksheet, then hit the arrow to continue the execution. I really need to buckle down and get smart so I can do more than ask questions. Is there a good web based VBA site that I can learn the basics of troubleshooting at?

Screenshot_20221117_042454.png

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.
You said:
Is there a good web based VBA site that I can learn the basics of troubleshooting at?

So, I see you have been a member of this forum for nearly 5 years.
Have you not been able to get the help you need here?
I see nothing wrong with this line of code assuming you have a sheet by that name.
And to get help with a script it's always best to post all the code here and not a picture of the code.

Upvote 0
Paul Kelly from Excel Macro Mastery has a lot of good videos out there, try the one below:
As @My Aswer Is This indicated it may not help you much with your current scenario since the most likely reasons for that line not working are:
• That sheet name is not Valid in the Activeworkbook
• The ActiveWorkbook is not what you think it is.
The fact that it works sometimes and not other times indicates that since your code has not specified which workbook, is defaulting to the ActiveWorkbook which may not be the workbook that it is intended to use.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Solution
You said:
Is there a good web based VBA site that I can learn the basics of troubleshooting at?

So, I see you have been a member of this forum for nearly 5 years.
Have you not been able to get the help you need here?