Evaluate each cell in a row against two other rows using VBA

lhara2010

I have a lot of data (~350 rows) that need to be evaluated against two rows. Imagine the first row is a header, second row and third row are my spec limits. I am basically trying to evaluate whether each of the 350 row items fall within the values specified in Row 2 and Row 3. I will eventually need to apply this across 300 columns as well, where each column is just looking up at the first two rows. I have managed to do this successfully using conditional formatting, but for further processing it would be convenient to have a VBA program that I can manipulate.
I am not a programmer, but after quite a bit of reading and looking at other examples, I have written up something.

VBA Code:
Sub sorting()
'
Dim i As Long
Dim iCell As Range

For i = 4 To 355
Set iCell = Range("AH" & i)
If iCell.Value > "AH2" Or iCell.Value < "AH3" Then 
iCell.Interior.Color = VBA.ColorConstants.vbRed
Cells(i, 319) = 1 'enter 1 in column LG   'added to debug code
End If
Next i

End Sub

When I run this code the entire column becomes red. I added one more line of code to check if it is just a coloring issue by entering 1 when the condition becomes true. Sure enough the whole column populates with 1. It doesn't matter what values I have in AH2 and AH3, the entire column becomes the same color. Interesting thing is, if I replace AH2 and AH3 with hard coded values like say 0 and 1, the code works correctly both for coloring and the column 319. I even tried AH$2 but it doesn't make a difference.

As I mentioned before I need this applied to ~300 columns eventually, so will likely need to add another loop or rewrite this segment of code. But I cannot figure this out.

This looked similar to another issue in this forum; but upon closer look that requirement is different

Really appreciate any help here.

Thank you all so much,

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?