Need formula that copies multiple columns and deletes duplicates

optimatez

Good afternoon excel friends!

I am using excel 2007 on windows 7 pro. I will try and explain my situation generically first, but then give a detailed scenario in case it is to confusing.

I am stumped by this one despite several hours of playing around with it, although i admit i am not an expert. Basically i have a long list of data (8 to 16 digit alphanumeric from barcode scans, hence forth known as sample ID's) in 4 different columns, with a lot of duplicates. I have an additional 9 different columns that need to replicate the Sample ID's by determining which columns contain the duplicates, however within those 9 different columns the same Sample ID can only occur once. I played with this code:

=IF(ISERROR(MATCH(D2,$F$2:$F$6,0)),"",D2)

However, using this code it finds the duplicates only for two columns. In response i just made several columns that searched the many combinations of the 4 columns together. This worked, but if a sample ID appeared in more than 2 columns that sample ID appeared many times on the new columns, and the ID can only appear once total. I used google to find this code, but it isnt working and it is beyond my talent level. Looking for advice.
=IFERROR(INDEX($F$2:$F$10,SMALL(IF(ISNA(MATCH($F$2:$F$10,$K$2:$K$4,0)),ROW($F$2:$F$10)-ROW($F$2)+1),ROW(2:2))),"")

OK, if that was confusing or not clear, let me explain the entire process in case there is a better way to do it that i have not imagined.