No value for x in my for/if loop

Moonbeam111

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
I'm kind of new to vba and I'm having trouble with this loop. I want to continously subtract 0.0625 from range("I27") everytime the condition is met but with an extra 0.0625 each time the condition is met again. But there is something wrong with the code. It never gives x any value other than 0 and I'm not sure why. I thought of using multiple if statements but I don't think that's necessary and it would make the code redundant. Can anyone help me here?
VBA Code:
Dim x As Integer

If Range("H26") = "" Then
x = 0
End If

x = x + 0.0625

Range("m1") = x 'merely here to keep an eye on x's value

For x = 1 To 1 'not really sure what to put here
If Sheets("Sheet1").Range("H26") = "example text" And Sheets("Sheet1").Range("G41") = "example text" Then 'specific text criteria to match
Sheets("Sheet1").Range("I27") = WorksheetFunction.Max(0, Sheets("Sheet1").Range("I27") - x)
Sheets("Sheet1").Range("H28") = "example" & x & "% text"
Sheets("Sheet1").Range("H27") = Sheets("Sheet1").Range("H27") + 1 'count the number of times condition has been met
Exit For
End If
Next x

Excel Facts

Copy a format multiple times
Select a formatted range. Double-click the Format Painter (left side of Home tab). You can paste formatting multiple times. Esc to stop
What is this meant to do where x = 0.0625?
Code:
WorksheetFunction.Max(0, Sheets("Sheet1").Range("I27") - x)

Maybe explain in a concise manner what you want to achieve.
Quite often macros that do not work are a hindrance because they don't always show what needs to be done.

Upvote 0
VBA Code:
WorksheetFunction.Max(0, Sheets("Sheet1").Range("I27") - x)

Range(I27) is a cell with a percentage value in it.
Worksheetfunction.max: This ensures Range I27 never goes below 0%
And x is the value that I would like to subtract (% wise) from Range I27 based on if the text criteria specified here is matched:

VBA Code: