Noob looking for VBA help, please

Gaffee

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Guys, please be kind as this is my first time posting.

I have limited experience with VBA and can do some basic stuff but what I'm trying to accomplish I cannot figure out in my head. I'm using Excel 2016.

I want to select a name from a drop down list. This will then search column 2 on a different sheet for said name, then copy specific columns (2-5, 7-13) of the matching row to a specific row on the same sheet as the drop down list. I want to run this code by pressing a command button.
The columns that get copied are always the same, as is the destination.

Any help would be greatly recieved, and if you can explain it would be great so I can learn for future.

If you need any other info I'll gladly provide it.

Thanks

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
Would you not be better to use an index and match in each cell on the same sheet to return the values that match the item selected in the dropdown for the various columns

So a formula of =IFERROR(INDEX(Rawdata[item1],MATCH([@Dropdown],Rawdata[Name],0)),"") will return Item 1 of the raw data that you are looking into that matches the item selected in the dropdown.
Hope that makes sense

Upvote 0
Hello Gaffee,

Based on your description, we'd have to make numerous assumptions as to your data set out which would lead to many unnecessary posts. Please upload a sample of your workbook using this forum's mini sheet function (XL2BB) or via a file sharing site such as WeTransfer or Drop Box. If your data is sensitive, then please use dummy data. Please ensure that the sample is an exact replica of your actual workbook in all aspects and show inputs and expected results.

Cheerio,
vcoolio.

Upvote 0
Hello Gaffee,