[Photo Comment] Problem: Local File Only

slim_shyda

Hi guys,

So I have a spreadsheet of like 400 items and I want to know what each of them looks like so I use photo comment (Insert Comment -> Format Comment -> Fill Color -> Picture).
But the problem is, this method uses local file only. After I upload my spreadsheet and download it from another PC, I cannot see the photos because they are local files.
I am quite new to Excel so please be elaborate in your answers/explanations.

I appreciate everyone's effort to help! Thank you!

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
Hi guys,

So I have a spreadsheet of like 400 items and I want to know what each of them looks like so I use photo comment (Insert Comment -> Format Comment -> Fill Color -> Picture).
But the problem is, this method uses local file only. After I upload my spreadsheet and download it from another PC, I cannot see the photos because they are local files.
I am quite new to Excel so please be elaborate in your answers/explanations.

I appreciate everyone's effort to help! Thank you!

slim_shyda,
Welcome to the Forum.
One way would be to load all your pictures onto a worksheet, or worksheets so they will go with the Excel file.
To get the fullpath of your picture files, right click on any picture file in the folder you want to load onto
your Excel worksheet. Select 'Properties' and in the line listed as 'Location' will be the fullpath for that folder.

Put that between the quotes in the code below, ie. Folderpath = "C:\Users\you\folder1"

I have annotated (with a single quote = comment) the lines that you can modify to change the sheet name
where the pictures will be placed, the cell height and width, and the picture size (height and width).

Please TEST the code FIRST in a COPY of your workbook (always make a backup copy before trying
new code, you never know what you might lose).

1. Copy the below code below