Power Query - Logic Categorize and Group by

jdutle

Hello. I am new to using Power Query and have gotten stuck on something and am looking for some help.

In a data set I would like to categorize the values in one of the fields using some kind of If/Then/And/Or logic. I can figure out the logic if I was using an Excel formula, but I am struggling to transfer to Power Query. After categorization, I want group the data by the new Category field and an Order Number. Below is was I am trying to accomplish. Its a made up situation, so the scenario might seem a little goofy.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

1. Categorize - If under the same Order Number create the following values in a Item Category Field:
  • "Coke" and "Ice" appear, I want to categorize to "Coke & Ice"
  • "Ice" only appears, I want to categorize to "Ice Only"
  • "Coke" only appears, I want to categorize to "Coke & Ice"
  • "Veggie Burger" or "Beef Burger", I want to categorize to "Burger"
2. Group - If the same Order Number and Category combine the records
  • Item field is no longer needed
  • Cost should be summed if same Order Number and Category
  • Expiration Date: earliest date should be used for the grouping
  • Location and Owner: should have the same data for the grouping, so only one value needs to be retained
Example.png

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
How about this?

Book2
ABCDEF
1Order NumberItemCostExpiration DateLocationOwner
211111Coke$4.00 9/1/2023OhioJohn Smith
311111Ice$0.50 10/1/2023OhioJohn Smith
422222Coke$4.00 10/1/2023IndianaDan Smith
533333Ice$0.50 10/1/2023KentuckySally Jones
633333Veggie Burger$6.00 10/3/2023KentuckySally Jones
733333Beef Burger$5.00 10/5/2025KentuckySally Jones
9Order NumberCostExpiration DateLocationOwnerItem Category
1011111$4.50 9/1/2023OhioJohn SmithCoke & Ice