Power View via SharePoint SQL 2012

tbobolz

Board Regular
Hi All, I am a little new to what is available in Sharepoint 2010 and have a quick question. My company only has Excel 2010, Win7, Sharepoint 2010 and SQL 2012 version. I have made some amazing dashboards with Power Pivots and some VBA creativity. At the same time I am creating SharePoint Power Pivot Galleries and departmental dashboard and would love to levage the POWER VIEW capabilities of Share Point.

So, we do not have Power BI and I understand Power View is not available in Excel until the 2013 version. But I have heard it is avaiable in SharePoint 2010. Does this mean I can access a Power View "driver" in Sharepoint to create my maps from 2010 Excel Power Pivots and data. Or is it required that I have Excel 2013 for it to work in SharePoint 2010.

Thanks for the advice.

Terry

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
The good news is I *do* believe what you are asking is possible. RDLX files are what you are trying to create, and they are created directly in Sharepoint. The bad news... is I don't actually remember *how* to get to that functionality, or maybe what "Features" to turn on in Sharepoint if that is not there...

Upvote 0
The good news is I *do* believe what you are asking is possible. RDLX files are what you are trying to create, and they are created directly in Sharepoint. The bad news... is I don't actually remember *how* to get to that functionality, or maybe what "Features" to turn on in Sharepoint if that is not there...

Thanks, I guess what I dont know is.... Are the functions of Power View completely operated with-in the SharePoint add-in? Or would I need addional software as we only have Excel 2010 and Share Point 2010.

Thanks for your reply.

Upvote 0
Pretty sure it is a 100% sharepoint experience. I mean, I *know* there is a power view report builder in Sharepoint to build the rdlx files.