PowerPivot - relationship cannot be created because each column contains duplicate values

danvilla2

Hi

This is probably a very basic problem but forgive me, I'm new to PP. I have table 1: SKU, Size and Table 2: Sku, Volume.

When I link the tables I get the error that the relationship cannot be created. Table 1 only has unique SKU's in it, so I'm confused as to why it can't create the link. I understand the basic principles of Access but this is doing my head in!

Thanks

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
Ya, we get this question fairly frequently and my answer now is the same... I have *never* seen Excel lie about this. You have duplicates. And as Tim points out... the most common mistake here is multiple blanks.

I like to throw sku on rows, and a =COUNTROWS(Table) measure in values, sort by the count desc... and see my mistake at the top.

Upvote 0
Ya, we get this question fairly frequently and my answer now is the same... I have *never* seen Excel lie about this. You have duplicates. And as Tim points out... the most common mistake here is multiple blanks.

I like to throw sku on rows, and a =COUNTROWS(Table) measure in values, sort by the count desc... and see my mistake at the top.

I have two tables in Access with a one to many relationship. They have primary keys on the tables. For the many side I created a view and put the three parts of the composite key in a field. The one side table is joining on it's PK. There are no nulls and no blanks.

I Created a pivot table in excel using the PK field (customer ID) with count as a value. All values are one. Given all this I am still getting the dreaded "can't create key because duplicates in both tables".