Prime Factors

Sletsky

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Good Day to Everyone,

I am a Adult Student at Western Carolina University. I am taking a basic math class. It is kicking my tail.

I am currently using excel to assist me with formulas and getting answers quickily.

I am trying find some way to take a number Example "2340" and find all the prime factors of that number display them in ascending order in excel.

The other problem is figuring out is the number is prime or not?

How can I do this?

I thank everyone for their time in this matter.

Steve

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
That is a 2 step exercise
a) is the number a prime? There are prime calculators (testers) that would tell you that 2340 is not a prime. IIRC, any number ending in zero is divisible by 2 so that one should be obvious, but I'm no math genius either.
b) Methinks you'd need a vba function for returning only prime divisors of a number. I could find Excel articles that generate a list of primes between two numbers, test if a number is a prime, and so on, but not what you want. What you'd need is code that either looped through a list of primes and tried to divide your number evenly (e.g. 3 would be a prime divisor of 300) or, loop from 2 on up, testing if it's a prime, then doing the division with the prime and testing the result. Maybe that explanation would help you find something, or with luck, someone here has what you need.

Upvote 0
You can write a formula to determine primality:

Book1
AB
1NumberPrime?
22340FALSE
Sheet2
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
B2B2=IF(OR(A2={2,3}),TRUE,NOT(OR(MOD(A2,SEQUENCE(INT(SQRT(A2))-1,,2))=0)))