Query cells in a row to match in another table to return a true false statement.

stacilou

Hey ya'll,

I'm trying to summarize some Line-Point Intercept data and would like to able to summarize it by plant functional group.

ptTop Canopy123Soil SurfaceShrubPerennial GrassAnnual GrassPerennial ForbAnnual Forb
1QUGAPOPRACMI2lsTrueTrueTrue
2QUGAPOPRls
3QUGASYOR2POPRls
4QUGASYOR2POPRls
5QUGASYOR2ls
6QUGASYOR2POPRls
7QUGASYOR2POPRls
8QUGASYOR2POPRls
9QUGASYOR2POPRls

The second row is what I would like the whole table to look like. Like if there are two shrubs, I would like it to just return a True value, same with Perennial and Annual grasses/forbs. I have a Master species sheet with all the plant codes and duration, or I have a master species list that has all the plants separated by functional group (Shrub, Perennial Grass, Annual Grass, Perennial Forb, Annual Forb).

My first thought was to separate the master species into functional groups, then use those lists. I would use a lookup or match function to look in the entire row, then return a True or False; or a 1 or 0. Example row 2 in the table. Any suggestions?

Thank you!

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
The way i'd usually do this is VLOOKUP and LEN.

so the VLOOKUP will return the code "POPR" for example and LEN will confirm it's there.

=VLOOKUP(C2,'Master species sheet'!A:A,1,0) to get "POPR"

and

=IF(LEN(VLOOKUP(C2,'Master species sheet'!A:A,1,0) )>1,"True","")

The LEN of the return being 4, which is greater than 1, therefore True. If not found it will be #N/A! so the IFERROR changes that to a blank.

=IFERROR(IF(LEN(VLOOKUP(C2,'Master species sheet'!A:A,1,0) )>1,"True",""),"")

Last edited:
Upvote 0