Recognize this ERROR?

lhedges

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2002
Messages
18
Hello, I have a file that uses a VBA drop down to pull data from a control page. Some computers have no problem but others get this error. (All are running Excel97 SR-2)

Run time error 32809
Application Defined or Object Defined Error

Any help would be appreciated.
 

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number

XL-Dennis

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2002
Messages
1,920
lhedges,

Are You using one or more Active-X controls on worksheets?

If yes, set the TakeFocusOnClick property to false for each control.

If this is correct it only confirm a bug in XL-97.

HTH,
Dennis
 

Juan Pablo González

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 8, 2002
Messages
11,959
Dennis, I don't want to ruin your theory (Well kind of ! :p ), but, shouldn't that crash All Excel 97 machines ? and, they're all running on Excel 97 -SR2. Maybe an ActiveX object missing ?
 

Jack in the UK

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Messages
3,215
Hi Guys

I dont recall seeing the error numbe but might be related to image imported or placed in excel poss path has changed

If gif/bmp/jpg in userform, then active x???
 

XL-Dennis

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2002
Messages
1,920

ADVERTISEMENT

On 2002-08-29 16:08, Juan Pablo G. wrote:
Dennis, I don't want to ruin your theory (Well kind of ! :p ), but, shouldn't that crash All Excel 97 machines ? and, they're all running on Excel 97 -SR2. Maybe an ActiveX object missing ?

Leave the theories to the well-educated regular contributors on this list (I´ve got only a MBA-degree not Phd) :)

This bug has bugged me for a long time and if it wasn´t for my (bad) experience I had come to the same conclusion as You.

The only time I´ve seen "Run time error 32809" is with 97 and when Active-X controls are used in worksheets. And it does not appear regular either....


If I´m wrong then it wouldn´t be the first time nor the last time either for me :wink:

Thanks Jack :)

Take care and I will read the outcome of this thread tomorrow (my local time)
Dennis
This message was edited by XL-Dennis on 2002-08-29 16:31
 

Jack in the UK

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Messages
3,215
Hi Dennis,
I have seen many many errors all seem to befixed then they change depending the the colour of the moon that night!

Keep posting mate you input is important!
 

lhedges

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2002
Messages
18

ADVERTISEMENT

Hello,
Yes I do have active x controls on this worksheet. But unfortunately I am clueless on how to change the properties to "takefocusonclick" to false. I have looked in my VBA editor on the properties and looked at all options on my control. This sounds easy and I am sure I am just missing it. Can someone help me out? Thanks, Lori
 

Juan Pablo González

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 8, 2002
Messages
11,959
Lori, the CommandButtons are the ones, if they're embed on the worksheet, that have that property (Well, others too, but the code usually run from CommandButtons...). So, it should be there, but only for controls that are on the worksheet.
 

XL-Dennis

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2002
Messages
1,920
lhedges,

Have You worked it out?

Please mail back Your results :)

Jack - Thanks for the encouragement :) :)

Kind regards,
Dennis
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,147,622
Messages
5,742,199
Members
423,711
Latest member
luisfreitas

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top