Recorded Macro Edits

ad91

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Everyone,

I'm VERY new to VBAs and i just started with recording macros, it was brought to my attention that while recording macros after editing it, that there might be some commands that would be considered redundant and might cause problems down the line. The statement was very vague and i was wondering if anyone had any advice or guidance on how to spot such commands in recording macros and how they would compare if the code were to be written in a more efficient and clear way that wouldn't cause issues down the line.

I would appreciate your feedback.

Thank You.

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
Welcome to the Board!

If it does what you want it to, the only "issues" that really might cause down the line is it will be a little slower than you want, as it records things like cell selections, which usually aren't necessary.

Most of the time, if you have one line end that ends with:
VBA Code:
.Select
and the next line begins with
VBA Code:
Selection
those two lines can be combined to one line (getting rid of the Select/Selection will speed things up).

Also, it is very literal, and record things like scrolling, which is not necessary in your code and can be removed.

Because it is very literal, you sometimes need to edit the code to make it more dynamic. For example, if you are doing something to a data range that may be different sizes every time, you will want to dynamically determine the size of the range instead of using the recorded range (as that is hard-coded and will never change).

For example, if you wanted to apply something to column A from row 1 down to the last row of data, instead of using a recorded reference like:
VBA Code:
Range("A1:A10")