Running Totals

Dolphinboi

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Messages
9
Hello All:
I work for a hotel, and every night the auditor has to fill out a hand written sheet. I want to know if there is a formula I can use to keep a running total of the month to date revenue using two columns. example

A:1= Today Revenue
B:1= Running total revenue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Something like this ...or were you looking for something more?

pll
Book1
CDEFGH
14
15
16DailyCumulative
171400400
182377777
193200977
2044501427
21
22
Sheet2
 

Dolphinboi

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Messages
9
Needing more:
I need to keep the running total on one line, not two...Does that make sense?
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
how about this...just change the range to the full range of your daily activity



...hope this helps
Book1
CDEFGHIJKL
15
16DailyCumulative
1714001427
182377
193200
204450
21
22
23
24
25
Sheet2



pll
This message was edited by plettieri on 2002-10-12 20:51
 

Dolphinboi

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Messages
9

ADVERTISEMENT

*sighs* ok I'm confusing you...

Room Revenue MTD
35,000.00 35,000.00

now the next day room revnue will be diff..
25,000.00 35,000.00+25,000.0
I'm using online per day..I want to keep the total, but the Daily will change..Does that make sense?
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Sorry... i'm a little slow tonight...care to post a short sample and the outcome you expect....

you can use "Download Colo's cool utility for displaying your Excel Worksheet on the board"

pll
 

Dolphinboi

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Messages
9

ADVERTISEMENT

Audit Sheets.xls
ABCD
1DAILYREPORTMONTHTODATEDAYSINN
2
3DAY
4DATE
5MONTH:
6TODAYMONTHTODATE
7ROOMREVENUE$343.00
Month to Date


b1 changes daily, I use the same sheet every night.
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS
Once again...Are you not keeping the daily activity somewhere? I seem to want to add something for you, but all there is, is the current days business and YTD amounts...is that correct?


Anyone else care to respond to this qusetion ...

pll
This message was edited by plettieri on 2002-10-12 21:28
 

Alriemer

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
102
Dolphinboi,

If I understand right, every night you fill out a new sheet with tonight's total in one blank and the month-to-date total in another.

Why not keep a daily log on a separate tab, similar to what plettieri has suggested, and then write formulas to let the current daily and month-to-date numbers appear on the sheet you will print out (ie, the example you posted)?

Alriemer
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,144,438
Messages
5,724,361
Members
422,546
Latest member
KevinOnTheDaily

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top