Search for and select reference value

gbaron

Hi,

I am quite new to VBA and have spent the better portion of the day reading forums so I thought I would just ask because I am stumped. I would like to have a macro that searches for a value in a specific cell in a column on another sheet. I simply want to select the first match in the column so I can paste some values next to it.

Sheets("Input").Range("C13") *this is the value I would like to search for*
Sheets("Measures").Range("A1:A530") *this is the column and sheet I would like to search in. I would like to search from the top for the FIRST match and simply activate that cell so the following syntax will work:

ActiveCell.Offset(0, 2).Select
Range("L24:N24").Select
Selection.Copy
Sheets("Measures").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=True
ActiveCell.Offset(3, 0).Select
End Sub

Sorry if this is an overly simple question but I have tried the "find" function for the last five hours and I just don't get it.

Thank you

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
Hi, A simple solution to get you started. Change 'lookat:=xlPart' to 'lookat:=xlWhole' if it's an exact match your looking for. Hope this helps.

Sub TestF()

Dim ValueToFind As String
ValueToFind = Range("MyValue").Value 'Use a named range to store your value in case columns or rows are added and moves the cell

Range("A1:A500").Find(What:=ValueToFind, lookat:=xlPart).Offset(0, 2).Activate

Range("L24:N24").Select
Selection.Copy
Sheets("Measures").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks:=False, Transpose:=True
ActiveCell.Offset(3, 0).Select
End Sub

Upvote 0
Hi hatstand,

I apologize, but I cannot seem to get it to work. I have a few questions about your solution that may help solve the problem though.

1. Dim ValueToFind As String