shroeder...

Von Pookie

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
13,686
Please stop posting the exact same thing. Apparently something in your post is causing it to go wonky, so re-evaluate what you're trying to show us.

Is it HTML or something you're trying to post?

_________________<font color="#3399FF" size="3">Kristy</font>
kitten_smush2.jpg

This message was edited by Von Pookie on 2002-10-04 10:17
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Format cells as currency
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+4 to format cells as currency. (Shift 4 is the $ sign).

shroeder

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
Very sorry! Somehow on my Mac, whenever I try to view my posts it re-sends it, instead. This happened once before and from now on I'll just use a different computer (PC).

On that particular post, I noticed my message got cut off when I used "equal to" or "greater than" characters. That's when things got weird. Anyway..

Would you like me start over with a new post or try to describe my issue here? I don't have html to show, just a lengthy description.
 

Von Pookie

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
13,686
Ok. Your post was getting cut off because those "greater than" and "less than" characters are also used for HTML tags. It was being interpreted as code.

If you're posting code, you could either try using the [ code ] tag (without the spaces) before and after your code, or use the < PRE > tag (no spaces) before and after.

If it's just using the symbol in text, try to remember to put a space around it so it doesn't interpret it as HTML.

You could just repost your question here, if you want. I don't know if I personally will be able to help, but someone surely will eventually:)
 

shroeder

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
The following formula works fine:

IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH(E2,'Loop Library'!F$34:F$49,0)),"Fujimoto"," ")

Because it's only looking at three cells within the F34:F49 range that are
the result of a filter.

But now when I re-filter those coumns in 'Loop Library' doc with new
criteria, the corresponding formulas don¹t see the filter, they just see the
entire range. Here are two formulas that have that problem and I can't
figure out what¹s different from the one that works:

IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH(E2,'Loop Library'!F$120:F$140,0)),"Chip Martin"," ")

IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH(E2,'Loop Library'!F$6:F$103,0)),"Mike Bielenberg"," ")


On the last thread, I was asked for more info about the filtering so here
goes:

'Loop Library' is a worksheet with about 45 columns, three of which are
relevant to this problem. The first two refer to a range of text values
which are "title of music piece" and "composer". The third column SUMS the
number of times each piece of music was sold.

First, I filter all "0"s out of the SUM column so I only see pieces that
have actually sold.

Second, I sort the "composer" column so I¹m only seeing the works by one
individual.

The formulas I'm using in the next worksheet are then supposed to only
reference the visible range of cells in the "title of music piece" column.


Hope all that makes sense
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,201

ADVERTISEMENT

On 2002-10-03 12:26, shroeder wrote:
The following formula works fine:

IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH(E2,'Loop Library'!F$34:F$49,0)),"Fujimoto"," ")

Because it's only looking at three cells within the F34:F49 range that are
the result of a filter.

But now when I re-filter those coumns in 'Loop Library' doc with new
criteria, the corresponding formulas don¹t see the filter, they just see the
entire range. Here are two formulas that have that problem and I can't
figure out what¹s different from the one that works:

IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH(E2,'Loop Library'!F$120:F$140,0)),"Chip Martin"," ")

IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH(E2,'Loop Library'!F$6:F$103,0)),"Mike Bielenberg"," ")


On the last thread, I was asked for more info about the filtering so here
goes:

'Loop Library' is a worksheet with about 45 columns, three of which are
relevant to this problem. The first two refer to a range of text values
which are "title of music piece" and "composer". The third column SUMS the
number of times each piece of music was sold.

First, I filter all "0"s out of the SUM column so I only see pieces that
have actually sold.

Second, I sort the "composer" column so I¹m only seeing the works by one
individual.

The formulas I'm using in the next worksheet are then supposed to only
reference the visible range of cells in the "title of music piece" column.


Hope all that makes sense

What is in E2 when the formula returns/asked to return "Fujimoto"?
 

shroeder

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
The E Coluumn contains song titles as text values. This may seem confusing, but the text values are actually a numerical series. i.e. "0080," "0081,". I have to do it that way because that's how it imports from an external source.

Anyway, the formula is looking for any matches in a single E column cel with any text values shown in 'Loop Library' F column (sorted of course).
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,201
On 2002-10-03 14:31, shroeder wrote:
The E Coluumn contains song titles as text values. This may seem confusing, but the text values are actually a numerical series. i.e. "0080," "0081,". I have to do it that way because that's how it imports from an external source.

Anyway, the formula is looking for any matches in a single E column cel with any text values shown in 'Loop Library' F column (sorted of course).

In which column are the composers?
 

shroeder

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
The sorted column is H. That's the data source.

The column where results are returned is N.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,123,398
Messages
5,601,440
Members
414,450
Latest member
Cassy_sn

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top