Single-character entry in cell --> Move to next cell down

discgolfdc

Hello, all. I'm hoping that I might be able to get a (somewhat) quick answer here. I'm relatively new with the whole VBA thing in Excel, and have managed to pull off one or two simple things with some help. I'll likely never be a Microsoft MVP or a VBA expert, and that's why I appreciate these boards.

I have designed a simple little spreadsheet that allows me to compare a student's answers to test questions against those that would be considered the "key." What I am trying to achieve, however, is the ability to have Excel select the cell immediately below the one I'm currently in (without having to hit enter, tab, down arrow, etc.) once I enter a letter in the current cell. I do have the worksheet protected, but as it stands, I still have to hit one of those keys to get to the next cell down. If I could get Excel to do the "Enter/Tab/Down Arrow" thing FOR me upon entry of a single character, I'd be able to really fly through grading, as it would literally be a single-hand operation. Turning pages with one hand, hitting "A", "B", "C", "D", etc., with the other -- now that's efficient!! ;)

The student's answers are entered in cells C4 through C78. Specifically, I'd like to be able to start in Cell C4, press the letter corresponding to the student's answer, and have Excel jump down to Cell C5 immediately after I've hit that letter key. I'd like to be able to continue this pattern so that when I wind up in Cell C78, that immediate jump no longer occurs (there'd be nowhere else for it to go at that point, being that that is the last question).

Is there a way to get Excel to move down a cell upon entry of a single character of data in a particular cell? I appreciate any and all feedback.

With admiration of all you VBA folks out there...I don't know how you learn all of what you learn...

Jayson

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?