Trouble Calculating Weighted Averages based off of Subtotals

adienni

Hi all,

I'm running Windows 7 64bit, with Excel 2010 and the Powerpivot plugin. I'm new to Powerpivot and I feel like I'm really close to getting it to do what I want but I can't seem to figure out the last step. I have a dataset roughly 50k lines long formatted like this.

AccountDays Past DueAmount
A-22000
A-14000
A155200
B12400
B14102
C10485
C211039
C101394
D4583

<tbody>
</tbody>

Each line is representative of one paid invoice. What I'm trying to do is create a weighted average of the "Days Past Due" column for each individual account.

Currently the way I do this (one account at a time) is subtotal the "Amount" column.
Then divide each individual invoice for an account by the subtotal for that account (giving me the weighting I want to use).
I then multiply this weighting by each individual "Days Past Due" entry (in a helper column), and finally take the sum of that column.
This gives me the weighted days past due for an individual customer.

Now I want to do this for every customer in our database at once.

I've been able to have the pivot table generate this weighting for me using the "Show values as a % of parent Row" option. However I am not able to create a measure that multiplies the "Days past due" by this implicit value.

I suppose what I'm looking for is how do I create a measure that will divide an individual invoice's amount by the subtotal for that account?

I've been trying to use this guide (Weighted Averages: Another Use of SUMX() « PowerPivotPro) but I seem to be missing something.

Apologies if I've been unclear. If necessary I can upload a dataset to better demonstrate what I'm trying to do.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
Sousanna Aristiadou