Trying to understand Linked Tables and Relationships, help?

pixelkicker

Hello!

I am somewhat new to the more advanced features of Access. I am currently using Access 2010 and I am running in to some issues with something I thought would be simple. Here is the story:

We are creating a new Personnel table (from scratch) in Access. I'll refer to this table as "Access Personnel Table."

We have a automated system that spits out a excel file once a day with a list of personnel and about 4 other useful fields of information. I'll refer to this as "Excel Roster"

The Access Personnel Table needs to be auto-magically updated with the information from the 4 useful fields that are in the Excel Roster.

This update happens once a day. And CAN be managed by a person if necessary (but preferably not.)

I have tried importing the Excel file as a Linked Table but I am having issues with the relationships. I also don't know how to "Append" the Excel Roster to the table without overwriting it or changing it. I also don't know how to automate this.

Also, the Access Personnel Table is going to later be the used for the Primary Key in several other tables.

ANY help or guidance will be much appreciated!! Thanks in advanced!

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
Hi,
Linking Access to Excel files is evil and should be avoided (locks the Excel file, for one, and Excel doesn't understand things like keys and relations, for another, or even enforce columnar datatypes). My preference would be to import the data. Probably to a temp table where it can then be pushed around as needed.

What kind of info is in the Excel Roster? I would think a Personnel table wouldn't change much (names, ID, hire dates - these things don't change).

Upvote 0
Hi,