User Form - adding a help file

mortgageman

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
2,015
Is there a general way (or any way) to add a help file to a user form?

Gene, "The Mortgage Man", Klein
 

Excel Facts

Format cells as currency
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+4 to format cells as currency. (Shift 4 is the $ sign).

Tazguy37

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
4,237
How about adding a ToolTip for each control? Would that do it?
 

Fat Cat

Active Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2004
Messages
336
You could pop up another UserForm as the help screen and put the contents of the help file into a textbox on that form.

Make the Textbox multiline, wordwrap

Code:
Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
Dim myText As Variant
Close #1
Open "c:\HelpFile.txt" For Input As #1
While Not EOF(1)
    Input #1, newText
    myText = myText & newText & vbCr
Wend
Close #1
TextBox1.Text = myText
End Sub
 

mortgageman

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
2,015

ADVERTISEMENT

You could pop up another UserForm as the help screen and put the contents of the help file into a textbox on that form.

Make the Textbox multiline, wordwrap


code:

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
Dim myText As Variant
Close #1
Open "c:\HelpFile.txt" For Input As #1
While Not EOF(1)
Input #1, newText
myText = myText & newText & vbCr
Wend
Close #1
TextBox1.Text = myText
End Sub


The Line: Open "c:\HelpFile.txt" For Input As #1
(which I don't pretend to understand completely) suggests that the help file resides "outside" of excel and somewhere else on the computer. Does this make distribution more difficult?

Gene, "The Mortgage Man", Klein
 

rs2k

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2004
Messages
1,413
You could also put the help file info on a label (that way the help file will always be with Excel) and stick the label onto a userform which is triggered by a "Help" command button.

Colin.
 

Tazguy37

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
4,237
mortgageman said:
How about adding a ToolTip for each control? Would that do it?

It sounds good. What is it?

Gene, "The Mortgage Man", Klein

If you open the VBA Help, enter tooltip, and choose "What is a ToolTip? (Forms)" from the topics. Read all about it. Very neat, easy feature to implement. Not really a helpfile, but, as the name suggests, just tips on what to do ("Enter last name, then first name separated by a comma." Stuff like that.)

Hope that helps!
 

mortgageman

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
2,015
If you open the VBA Help, enter tooltip, and choose "What is a ToolTip? (Forms)" from the topics. Read all about it. Very neat, easy feature to implement. Not really a helpfile, but, as the name suggests, just tips on what to do ("Enter last name, then first name separated by a comma." Stuff like that.)

I read it all. I was able to figure out how to add a tool tip to my option buttons - (type it in the controltiptext in the properties section). But what if I want to change it during the userform operation? The help says I can do it, but it doesn't say how.

Gene, "The Mortgage Man", Klein
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,130,169
Messages
5,640,550
Members
417,151
Latest member
ChickenTenderer

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top